Blog Banter #22: Corporation Guilt?

Welcome to the twenty-second installment of the EVE Blog Banter, the monthly EVE Online blogging extravaganza created by CrazyKinux. The EVE Blog Banter involves an enthusiastic group of gaming bloggers, a common topic within the realm of EVE Online, and a week or so to post articles pertaining to the said topic. The resulting articles can either be short or quite extensive, either funny or dead serious, but are always a great fun to read! Any questions about the EVE Blog Banter should be directed to crazykinux@gmail.com. Check for other EVE Blog Banter articles at the bottom of this post!

This month topic is brought to us by L’Dene Bean of Nitpickin’s who asks: Why, and how did you pick your corporation? Is your loyalty solid or just until a better placed organization “recruits” you. The shorter version:  Who holds your Unshakable Fealty and why?

Sometimes it takes a lot of effort to find a place where you can fit into the corporate scene and be comfortable at the same time.  Just like anything else in the world we, as human beings even immortal one, can make mistakes.  So sometimes after a fair amount of searching we settle into a corporation that says they have everything we need and do everything we want to do.  But after a while we determine that we don’t really have access to everything we need and they don’t really do what we do.  But the thing is new and shiny and that guy that hired me said that things were changing and I’d have a good time here.  But the happiness never really comes and the good times are pretty far between.

I’m sure most people have been in this situation at least once and when they finally came to the determination that it was time to GTFO; that they might feel a bit of guilt for leaving or a bit of apprehension because of the unknown that waited beyond.

The answer comes first: Your happiness is primary.  If you’re not happy then something needs to change.  Change your home system, change your ship, change race of your ships, change your profession or change your corporation.

To answer L’Dene Bean; I picked my corporation mostly because it was something that I had never done before.  And no, my loyalty is not solid to that corporation.  Nobody recruits me either, I interview the recruiters and I choose which path to take.  If I join a corporation and find out that I’ve been lied to about opportunities or operations, I’ll start looking for how I can take advantage of the situation while I being passively looking for a new corp.  If I join a corporations and it is what they say it is and I just get tired of it, I’ll let them know that I’m leaving.

I don’t know anyone in real life that plays EvE, so the only real loyalty I have is to me.  And that loyalty is based on my happiness.  Because when you boil it all down, EvE is only a game and if you’re not happy with the game, or it has become more like work then it is time to change.  If changing in the game doesn’t work, don’t be afraid to put it down and look for something else.

Incidentally, I’m currently looking for a new corporation just because, my character is too young to handle the magnitude of battle; educationally or monetarily.

This entry was posted in Blog Banter, EVE, Random Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Blog Banter #22: Corporation Guilt?

  1. Pingback: A "CareBears" Journey » Blog Archive » EVE Blog Banter #22: Am I Loyal, Or Just Complacent?

  2. Nice, short, sweet and to the point. Well said – succient detail of your experience. Thank you for the response.

  3. Pingback: Esprit de Corps

  4. Pingback: Blog Banter 22: Corp Loyalty (Oh how original) | TheElitist

Leave a Reply

