Back in Action! Sort of…

Over the weekend I was able to achieve my goal of finishing the installation of my Ethernet.  I was finally able to play with the new character creator on a powerful system that didn’t need minutes but seconds to redraw my changes.  My new portrait will be added soon.  I tried to keep the same feeling with Sarnel, the sort of neo-cyber-punkish-I’ll-kick-your-ass-don’t-mess-with-me-but-I’m-really-a-decent-person-if-you-get-to-know-me sort of look.  I think she is more friendly looking now; I think it’ll be a nice juxtaposition for when I become a pirate, people won’t immediately see her as the death bringer that she is destined to be.

In addition to the new character creator I was able to play around a bit with the new PI changes.  My initial response to this was “Cool”, after playing around with it for a bit, not so much.  For the same time period as I had before (23 hours) all of my production levels have dropped.  I needed to decommission several production facilities to balance my ERPCPL (Extraction Rate, Power Consumption, Production Level)

I’ll come up with a better acronym for it later.

For those of you who work with PI will now what I’m talking about (hopefully). For those of you that don’t; it’s matching your total extracted units per hour to that amount consumed but production in an hour while maxing out your power grid and/or CPU.

An example of that would be in T1 production; each production facility will use 3,000 raw resources ever 30 minutes ergo 6,000 per hour.  If you have 9 facilities then you total hourly consumption rate is 54,000 units.  If you’re not extracting that much per hour then your producers will starve; if you are extracting more than that, your warehouse will eventually become stuffed with raw materials.

The latter is a better of two evils because at least all of your production facilities will be working all of the time.  But if it were balanced then you would have more production facilities so you would have a higher production rate.   Do you see what I’m getting at with this?  Balance Balance Balance.

The new system does allow you to more effectively balance your production system but it seems to be at a cost of production.  My systems were well-balanced before and producing higher numbers than they are now.  Granted I just started playing with the new system and making some ISK is better than non at all.  I’m sure that I will find a better way of handling things in the future and when I do; I’ll let you know.

As for action, I didn’t get that far.  I was playing around with the Character Creator for a couple of hours just exploring all of the new little details (which there are a lot of; Awesome!).  And several hours into just figuring out what the hell was going on with Planetary Interaction.  Hopefully in the next few days, I’ll be able to at least go out and do a bit of ratting if not messing around with some players.

Until then, have fun!

Remember, it’s just a game.

This entry was posted in EVE, Random Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

